The prestigious US-based International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced winners for its latest competition.   Judges include Mariah Carey, Tom Waits, Jennifer Hudson, Linkin Park, Shooter Jennings, Steven Curtis Chapman, Reba McEntire, and More
Nashville, TN, USA –

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced its winners for the 2023 competition and is celebrating the success of the many talented Australian winners.

Founded in 2002, ISC stands as a premier global platform that celebrates and recognises exceptional songwriting talent from around the world. Established to honour and promote the art of songwriting, ISC gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, including a $25,000 cash prize to the overall Grand Prize winner.

Beyond the accolades and prizes, ISC serves as a catalyst for discovering the next generation of musical visionaries, making it an important annual event for those who seek to leave an indelible mark on the world of songwriting. Home to a myriad of talented artists, the Aussie music scene has gained international recognition for its ability to produce chart-topping hits and foster groundbreaking innovation, carving out its niche in the industry.

Out of 14,000 entries submitted from 140 countries, songs by Australian writers have secured 30 honours, earning recognition for their exceptional talent, innovation, and creativity. In what is another banner year for Australians, they have racked up three First Place winners and 27 Honourable Mentions.   “Congratulations to all the talented Australian songwriters for their resounding success in ISC,” said Candace Avery, Founder/Director of ISC. “Their achievements on this global stage are a testament to the richness of Australian musical talent and exemplify the rich musical tapestry that Australia contributes to the world. Their voices are heard, celebrated, and appreciated across the world.”
Three Australian songs and their songwriters were awarded First Place honours this year. First Place winners include songwriters Leanne King, Megan Lipworth, Vanessa Couper, Reuben Couper, and Josh Pyke (Sydney, NSW) for their song “Little River Runs” in the Children’s music category; Hayley Warner and Tom Jordan (Sydney, NSW) for “Brother” in Folk/Singer-Songwriter; and Daniel Acheson and Jude York (Burnie, TAS) for “Neverland Ft. Jude York” in the Unsigned category. Additionally, 26 Honourable Mentions were garnered by Australian songwriters. See the complete list of all Australian winners below.

These Australian winners join an illustrious group of past ISC winners such as Vance Joy, Tones And I, Gotye, Kasey Chambers, Eskimo Joe, Dean Lewis, Amy Shark, Gang of Youths, Missy Higgins, The Teskey Brothers, and many more.
For a complete list of all Australian winners and to listen to the winning songs, please visit the ISC website at   Australian winners included: First Place
“Little River Runs”– Leanne King, Megan Lipworth, Vanessa Couper, Reuben Couper, and Josh Pyke (TIPTOE GIANTS) – Sydney, NSW –– Children’s Music
“Brother” – Hayley Warner, Tom Jordan (Hayley Warner) – Sydney, NSW –
“Neverland Ft. Jude York” – Daniel Acheson and Jude York (Atch) – Burnie, TAS – Unsigned
AAA (Adult Album Alternative) 
“Bridge” – Lottie McLeod, Asha Jeffries, Oscar Richardson (Lottie McLeod) –  Belmont, QLD
“Red Earth Dirt” – Greta Stanley, Tristan Barton (Greta Stanley) – Mena Creek, QLD   Americana  
“June’s Stolen Car” – Sam Bentley  (The Paper Kites) – Melbourne, VIC
“Younger Days” – Paul J O’Brien  (PJ O’Brien) – Sydney, NSW   Folk/Singer-Songwriter    
“Memory” – Sam McGovern, Matt Gresham (Sam McGovern) – Golden Bay, WA   Lyrics Only 
“All I See Is Home” – Michael Franklin – Melbourne, VIC
“Ruby Ruby” – Susan Muranty – Sydney, NSW
Music Video
“To The Edge” – Nigel Wearne (Nigel Wearne) – Woodford, VIC
“Brother” ­ – Hayley Warner, Tom Jordan (Hayley Warner) – Sydney, NSW
“Walk You Home”– Owen Campbell (Owen Campbell) – Newcastle, NSW   Entries are now open for ISC 2024. For more information and to enter, go to
For low-res photos of all winners, go to 
For high-res photos, please contact Candace Avery at

press release